3 Essential items to make sure you’re ready for this upcoming snow season

1. Gloves

Even though you’re probably like “DUH!” I see a lot of rookies who keep using the same pair of gloves season over season. It’s important to make sure you invest in a nice pair and that are waterproof! There is absolutley nothing worse than having your hands wet AND cold, might even convine you to waste the day away at the lodge. My personal favorite brand when it comes to gloves are from Burton Gloves for Women and that link will send you straight to my recommended pair! They are stylish and do all the tricks to keeping my fingers warm!

Screen Shot 2017-10-25 at 2.30.46 PM

2. Pants and Jacket

This is one of my favorite parts about snowboarding! My outfit 🙂 I have always loved the way that men’s jackets and pants fit me rather than the snug fit women’s apparel gives me. With that being said, I like my outfit to be baggy so I’m not worried about constraining myself when I’m trying new tricks. It’s important to remember comfort when choosing your jacket and pants. Fun prints, solids, contrast, and colors are important aspects of choosing your outfit. With all of these choices gives you price variations as well. If you’re not careful picking out your outfit can become very $$expensive. I would suggest, if you’re new to skiing or snowboarding to try and find a cheaper alternative to purchasing your pants and jackets. I’ve actually found a lot of reasonably priced and slightly used options at Posh Mark . This is a website that allows you to sell/buy products that have been worn or used by others at a discounted price.

3. Goggles

These are HUGE on blue-bird and white out days. It’s crucial to have the right pair for the right weather conditions. If the day is gorgeous with the sun shining and not a cloud in the sky you’ll need goggles that have more of a clear lens where you can see your eyes through them rather than a white-out day that you’ll need frames that are darker and allow you to distinguish the lines in the snow. Here is a chart that will help you understand what I mean.

Screen Shot 2017-10-25 at 2.26.02 PM

 

Some people may think that there are other imporant items you should focus on but to me being comfortable and prepared for all weather conditions trumps all other items. You don’t want to focus too much on you’re board, boots, or bindings becasue in the beginning it’s all about getting comfortable and adapting to a new terrain. You can rent you’re board, boots, and bindings which will allow you to get expertise help with fitting and once you’ve dominated that dang bunny hill- then you can research your OWN board, boots, and bindings.

Leave a comment